How much to charge for promotion on instagram


How Much To Charge For A Sponsored Instagram Post (Rate Calculator)

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If you’re in the midst of landing brand deals but the money talk has you going “Uhhhhhhhh,” then you’re in the right place. Because yes, this post covers everything you need to know about how much to charge for a sponsored Instagram post (or even a TikTok)!

And if you’re landing on my blog after Googling something like, “How much do influencers charge per post” or “Instagram influencer rates,” I’m guessing you want to become an influencer or already a full-time influencer.

Now, you don’t want to leave money on the table, right? But unfortunately, I see it happen to influencers all the time.

That’s why in this blog, we will break down all the components to create your price for sponsored content so you can start earning an INCOME from your work and have a successful influencer CAREER.

Plus, you’ll get to access a free influencer rate calculator to help you determine what to charge!

No more chit-chat. Let’s jump right into the juice, starting with the easy stuff!

P.S. This is how I price my paid Instagram sponsorships when I’m negotiating 4 and 5 figure brand deals, so I know they’ll work for you too!

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How Much to Charge for Sponsored PostsInfluencer Rates Guide

Written by Influencer Coach Dani The Explorer

1% Formula for How Much to Charge for Instagram Posts

When deciding how much to charge for a sponsored Instagram post, ALWAYS start with this simple formula:

Charge $10 for every THOUSAND followers you have. 

Here is an example for someone who has 10,000 followers: 

(10,000 Followers /1,000 = 10, 10 x $10 = $100 Rate)

In other words, charge 1% per thousand followers.  The 1% Formula: 10,000 Followers x (.01) = $100 Rate

Your Followers x 1% = $Your Rate

Now, that’s just where to START.

Example of an Instagram influencer charging for a paid post

The Problem with The 1% Rule

This familiar influencer rate formula is problematic for a few reasons:

  1. It doesn’t take into account your quality of work
  2. It doesn’t take into account your engagement rate or other metrics
  3. It basically screws anyone who isn’t a macro-influencer (100,000+ followers)

That is why it is a starting point.

Never, never, ever price your sponsored Instagram content under this threshold (whether you pitch to brands or they come to you).

Why?

Because at the very least, when you promote a product directly on your feed, 1% of your followers will see the content, giving your sponsor 1% exposure to their target audience. 

Don’t worry, we’re going to keep discussing how much to charge for an Instagram post and how to charge MORE.

All the pricing recommendations I make have been tested by me and my Instagram influencer course students.

P.S. I’m launching a new Pricing Masterclass for influencers who want to make an actual income from their work and have an online career that gives them more freedom + financial security—check it out!

Truth be told, there are various factors for determining your Instagram influencer rates. Here are some of the most common:

  1. Deliverables
  2. Time
  3. Expenses
  4. Licensing
  5. Whitelisting 
  6. Exclusivity

P.S. My free influencer rate calculator will help you calculate all of this!

#1 Deliverables

Deliverables can be defined as what work you’ll provide for the brand. For example, will you be doing 1 Instagram post and 2 Instagram story slides?

Will you be writing one blog and posting one viral Reel to your feed? When you post deliverables, do you get a high amount of engagement and reach too?

In the next sections, we’ll dive DEEP into charging by post type.

Read Next: How to Turn a Gifted Collab Into a Paid Partnership

#2 Time

Time refers to your time to create said content.

While I don’t believe that the time it takes to create a piece of content should be the final factor for determining how much to charge for an Instagram post, I think that successful entrepreneurs are masters at valuing and safeguarding their time. 

Time can also refer to the deadline involved with the brand deal. If a brand needs a quick turnaround time for deliverables, you should charge more!

When considering YOUR time for creating the content, I suggest figuring out an hourly rate for yourself.

You can then tack this onto your pricing. If the brand needs a quick turnaround, consider adding some sort of speedy delivery or rush fee to your pricing.

Tools You’d Like: Ultimate Influencer Starter Pack—Media kit templates, brand pitch email templates & more!

Example of a sponsored influencer post

#3 Expenses

Expenses refer to what, if any, expenses you will be incurring for the sponsored job. For example, will you have to travel?

What about accommodations, gas, and food? Did you need to hire an assistant or buy photo props?

I suggest adding up the total expenses you will incur and adding that to your pricing when determining how much to charge for an Instagram post.

Free Download: Find Your Rates Roadmap—18-page influencer pricing guide

#4 Licensing

Licensing refers to what permissions you’re going to grant a company, if any, to use the content you create. For example, does the brand you’re working for want to repost your content on their feed?

Yep! You can charge brands for reposting your content. 

Does the brand want to use your content as an ad? Yep! You charge for that. 

Think of licensing like charge rent to use your content.

Video and image licensing is a complete beast in itself and truthfully deserves its own spotlight. If this is a topic you’re interested in, I suggest using a resource like Getty Images to help you get some benchmarks.

For now, I just want you to keep in mind that you can charge for these things. 

A simple rule of thumb for digital rights and licensing is to charge a 20% fee for every 30 day period.

#5 Whitelisting

Whitelisting (or boosting) is when a brand puts money behind your content. Typically, these are ad manager permissions you will grant the brand on your Instagram/ Facebook account backend. 

The brand will then literally make your content a paid ad coming from YOUR page.

Think of whitelisting like you’re a celebrity endorser for a product.

Brands benefit from your name and likeness, and you should 100% get paid for that. The rates for whitelisting and boosting rights range from an additional 50 to 100% fee for every 30 day period.

Let’s say, for example, Pepsi wants to pay you $1,000 for a static post, and they’d also like to whitelist/boost your content for 2 months. You decide to charge them a 100% additional fee as a part of your Instagram influencer rates.

That would look like this:

  • $1,000 for Static Post x 100% = $1,000 Boosting Fee for 30 days (about 1 month)
  • $1,000 Boosting Fee x 2 Months = $2,000 Boosting Fee for 2 Months

Additionally, you can instead ask the company what their total ad spend would be on the boosted content.

You can then charge an additional fee based on a percentage of ad spend. 

Let’s say you decide to charge 5% of ad spend. Pepsi agrees to pay you $1,000 for a static post, and they tell you that the total ad spend for the boosted content is $25,000. That might look like:

  • $25,000 Ad Spend x 5% = $1,250 Ad Spend Fee

Ultimately, you will have to determine which method would work best for you!

Free Tool: Media Kit Checklist—20 Things Your Dream Sponsors Look for. Click here to download!

#6 Exclusivity

Exclusivity is, in simple terms, when a brand says you cannot work with their competitors throughout your contract.  

When determining your pricing for exclusivity, consider the loss of potential income you will experience from having an exclusivity clause. Charge for that loss.

Of course, you cannot always predict when a competitor will come around with more money, but you can use your best judgment based on how many/ what kind of brand deals you typically get.

So let’s say that you sign a contract with Gucci to promote their fragrances for $1,000 with 3 months exclusivity.

This means that for the next 3 months, you cannot promote any competitors. 

Now let’s say that a month after your Gucci post, Marc Jacobs fragrances come around and pay you $15,000…

Too bad, boo! You have two more months to go on your Gucci contract before you can even think about Marc Jacobs.

Wa, wa, waaaaaaaaa. That’s why exclusivity is an essential factor to consider when determining how much to charge for an Instagram post.

And when you’re negotiating brand deals via email, you need to be sure to consider these factors!

Example of a sponsored influencer post

Free Influencer Rate Calculator

Okay, so before we continue, I want to introduce you to my free influencer rate calculator.

This calculator takes into consideration everything we just covered up until this point.

Before you go all crazy, here are a few tips for using the calculator:

  1. This is primarily for campaigns with Static Posts and Reels. In the next sections, we dive DEEP into specific content types, though.
  2. The calculator is for a single piece of content, so if you have multiple posts/ deliverables you will have to do separate entries—multiply your rate accordingly.
  3. Remember, this is JUST an estimate. If you’re charging more than the calculator’s output, great! Keep charging more!
  4. You’ll get 2 outputs:
    • Starting Post Rate—Treat this like the BARE MINIMUM you should be charging
    • Campaign Rate—What you should be charging based on what a brand is asking for

Enjoy!

Number of Instagram Followers


1% to 5% of Your Audience

Think about your experience, engagement rate, and the deliverables

# of Months for Exclusivity


Monthly Income Loss from Exclusivity

Monthly Income Loss from Exclusivity Estimating is fine


Whitelisting Boost Fee

Charge an additional % fee for a brand whitelisting your content

# of Months Boosted

# of Months Licensed


Hourly Rate

Enter an hourly rate for your services


Number of Hours to Complete Campaign

How long will it take to complete the campaign?


Rush Fee

Does the brand need a quick turnaround?


Expenses

Consider the cost of props, gas, assistants, etc.


Optional High Demand Premium

Charge a premium for being in high demand

Full Name

I’ll be updating this calculator as time goes on, but I hope you find it helpful for now!

Now that you have an idea of how much to charge for a Static post or video, let’s quickly discuss how pricing varies by post type.

P.S. Use an influencer rate card template like this to show off your prices in a professional way!

How Much to Charge by Post Type

“How much should I charge for an Instagram post?”

Believe it or not, there is more than one type of sponsored Instagram post out there. As a rule of thumb, I charge for just about everything I can, lol.

Do rates vary per post type? They do!

Here’s the post types we’ll be looking at:

  • Static Posts
  • Carousel Posts
  • IG Stories
  • Videos
  • IGTV
  • Reels
  • Link-in-Bio
  • Lives
  • Giveaways

And remember, the best part about all of these pricing factors is that they are 100% negotiable. For example, you can always negotiate down the exclusivity clause, or ask companies to remove deliverables. 

Free Download: Find Your Rates Roadmap—18-page influencer pricing guide

You already know this rule. A sponsored static post on Instagram should cost 1% of your following (at minimum).

I’ll paste the formula again for you to reference!

Your Followers x 1% = $Your Rate

Example:

10,000 Followers x 1% = $100 for a Sponsored Instagram Post

I recommend thinking more along the lines of charging 2 to 5% (5% being on the high end) of your following if you have high engagement and create high-quality content.

That formula would then look like this:

Your Followers x 5% = $Your Rate

Example:

10,000 Followers x 5% = $500 for a Sponsored Instagram Post

These percentages are entirely up to your discretion. I always say don’t be afraid to charge more.

Carousel posts have a few things going for them:

  • They’re more engaging than a standard static post
  • They give you the ability to mix and match content (video + images, or vice versa)
  • The brand gets more content pieces showcasing their product or service

I typically like to start with my standard rate and add money based on these items above.

Then, I suggest having a rate you can tack on per additional slide a company wants in your sponsored carousel post.

From my experience, there are a couple of ways you can determine how much to charge for an Instagram story:

  • Charge a flat fee per story slide
  • Charge 1% of your average Story views

As with everything else, your Instagram Story price will change based on various factors. But I find that using a mix of both points above is a good starting point.

Influencer charging for a paid post with Mazda

Video can be a complicated beast. My go-to for videos has always been to double my photo post rate.

For example, if you charged $500 for a static photo post, a video post could be $1,000.

However, there are other factors that you should consider with your video Instagram post price:

  • Length of video
  • Video quality
  • Licensing
  • Editing time

If needed, do research on video standards and licensing to know how much to charge. 

Charging for a Sponsored IGTV Post

All the same, the rules apply to IGTV posts.

But I imagine that in the future, IGTV posts will become less important.

It seems like Instagram will be getting rid of this feature in the future (since no one really uses it, haha).

For sponsored Reels, you can certainly follow the same guidelines as listed above; however, there are other ways you can charge for Reels. 

One of them is a tiered pricing method.

This means that you would be paid based on the number of views your Reel gets in a specific amount of time. For example, I’ve seen folks suggest that TikTok pays around 4 cents per 1,000 views. 

Considering everything we just discussed regarding Instagram influencer rates, I believe that’s WAY too low. And I mention this in my Instagram influencer course too.

I would suggest thinking of your tiers like our 1% rule instead. Therefore, you’d charge 1% of the total views.

A tier for our influencer with 10,000 might look like:

  • 1,000 to 5,000 views = $50
  • 5,001 to 10,000 views = $100
  • 10,001 to 50,000 views = $500
  • 50,001 to 100,000 = $1,000
  • 100,001 to 500,000 = $5,000
  • 500,000 to 1,000,000 = $10,000

You can totally omit this and simply charge a flat rate for your Reel instead.

It’s ultimately up to you.

However, I would consider adding a clause in your partnership contract stating you will be paid $XYZ more if your Reel generates a certain number of views. 

Can you imagine getting paid $500 for a Reel, which turns into a viral Reel at 20 million+ views? You’d be losing out on a lot of income while that brand got tons of exposure!

Free Download: Find Your Rates Roadmap—18-page influencer pricing guide

Charging for a Link in Bio

The pricing for a Link in Bio is entirely up to you and the value you place on your profile. In my opinion, I would never charge under $100 for ANYTHING, but again, this is up to your discretion.

Remember, your bio is prime real-estate on your profile, so it’s 100% worth getting money for any links placed there!

As Instagram Lives change, the way we charge for them may change. Badges, for example, were only added within the last year!

For Instagram Lives, I suggest determining an hourly rate for yourself and using that to determine the overall price of the Live.

For example, if you charged $100 per hour, a 30min Live may cost $50.

Free Tool: Media Kit Checklist—20 Things Your Dream Sponsors Look for. Click here to download!

Charging for a sponsored giveaway post typically follows the same rules as a sponsored static post.

However, the price increase comes with what type of giveaway you’re doing!

Here are some things to keep in mind:

  • Will your followers have to follow the brand’s page to enter the giveaway?
  • Will the brand be cross-promoting the giveaway so you can also get some followers from them? 
  • Is the brand asking you to collect emails, and will you access these emails too?

Once you figure out these terms, you can better understand whether you should charge the same as a static post or more to drive traffic to the brand’s social platforms.

Read Next: 6 Reasons You Aren’t Landing Brand Deals

Instagram influencer doing a sponsored post for a brand

Should You Have an Influencer Rate Card?

Yes! Having an influencer rate card is a great idea!

A rate card is a PDF that displays how much you charge for content creator services. It’s a super useful tool to have, ESPECIALLY if you want to upsell brands for more money!

Ideally, your rate card will match your influencer media kit branding, so when you send it over to the Nordstrom team to review, it looks all branded.

If you need a rate card that can help you upsell brands for more $$$, I have influencer rate card templates (click here to buy) for that!

Final Tips for Charging for Sponsored Instagram Content

WOW. Talk about a ton of math, huh.

So now, let’s discuss a few of my top tips for charging for sponsored Instagram content.

Never Take the First Offer

I don’t care what anyone tells you. When a brand reaches out, never take the first offer!

No matter who the brand is, they’re going to be offering you the least amount possible, most likely. NEGOTIATE. Ask for more money and come to a mutual agreement.

The worst thing that can happen is a brand says no, and you agree on the original offer. At least you tried!

Remember, This is Business

Whether you like it or not, as an influencer you are in BUSINESS. I see it all the time, people start this venture from a hobby and a passion to create.

And that usually means that they’re coming from a background with 0 sales or business experience. That results in influencers taking free products from brands in exchange for posts because, well, who wouldn’t want that free stuff? You probably weren’t expecting to get compensated for something that started as a hobby, right?

But, at the end of the day brands are looking to work with you to essentially borrow your audience. That’s a business transaction, so you need to treat this, like a business.

Get a Media Kit

A media kit is like a resume that lists out who you are.

I can honestly say a good influencer media kit template is essential for getting ready to charge for sponsored Instagram posts because it gives brands an idea of who you are and what your numbers look like.

Brands want to know that their ad dollars are being spent as effectively as possible. So in a recession, they’ll be super picky with who they work with.

If want to show brands that you mean business and that you’re the results-driven influencer they need, a professional media kit is the way to go.

P.S. All the templates I’ve mentioned in this post are bundled together in my Influencer Starter Pack and Toolkit (click here)!

Take Accountability

Truth bomb: YOU are responsible for making sure you get compensated fairly. Not brands. Not your friends. You.

As business folks, it’s our responsibility to make sure we’re sticking up for our worth and pricing our content appropriately.

The reason why you see some brands lowball influencers and continue to offer free products in exchange for posts is because INFLUENCERS are accepting these offers and not thinking twice about it.

If you’ve worked with brands for free or very little, that’s okay! We’ve all done it—you’re still an amazing influencer.

Just do better for next time. If you need help, I highly recommend checking out my Pricing Masterclass where we do a mega deep dive into what to charge for sponsored content, look at a brand contract, and so much more.

Example of a paid partnership post

Grow Your Instagram Following

While your Instagram following doesn’t determine how much money you can make, having a larger and more engaged Instagram community can help put you in a high-earning tier.

I have a blog on how to organically gain Instagram followers you can read for help!

Build a Website

Some folks might disagree with me on this, but building a website is crucial to your success, in my opinion! If you want to charge for sponsored Instagram posts, you’re going to have to start treating your Instagram like a business.

A website is a great way to level up.

Your site can also get you discovered on search engines like Pinterest and Google.

Anyways, by no means do you need to blog, but it can make you more money!

Your Next Steps

Please make sure you ALWAYS stick up for yourself and know your worth with sponsored content!

Content creation is a real job, and you should be compensated fairly regarding your Instagram influencer rates.

When one brand says no, please know that another company is willing to pay your rates. Never give up!

To keep upping your Instagram game, read these influencer guides next:

  • How to Beat the Instagram Algorithm
  • How to Pitch to Brands
  • How to Land a Paid Instagram Sponsorship
  • Create an Influencer Media Kit That Gets You Brand Deals
  • Guide to Becoming an Instagram Influencer

This is How Much Instagram Influencers Really Cost

In the world of social media and branded partnerships, how much does influencer marketing cost?

For businesses looking to grow on social media, particularly Instagram, knowing how much budget to allocate to influencer partnerships can be difficult.

With so many varying factors to take into account– like an influencer’s follower count, engagement rate, project scope, and production costs — it’s no wonder it can be challenging to put together a fair price for a branded partnership.

To help demystify the topic, we spoke to Instagram influencers, talent managers and social agencies to find out the real influencer marketing costs and going rates for branded partnerships in 2019.

Why Brands Are Investing in Influencer Marketing Costs and Projects

Instagram influencers continue to be a hot topic in social media, and by the looks of it, you can expect to keep seeing more of these social stars flooding your feeds.

These collaborations and sponsorships have nearly replaced traditional ads and are a huge part of  social media strategies today.

According to Influencer Marketing Hub, it has grown from a $1.7 billion industry in 2016, and is expected to continue its upward movement this year to potentially become a $5. 6 billion industry.

In fact, influencer marketing is on pace to become an $8 billion dollar industry by 2020! So if you haven’t started collaborating with influencers to market your business on Instagram, now is the time.

Plus, Instagram influencer partnerships are by far the best performing platform for brands to reach new audiences quickly, with an average 3.21% engagement rate compared to 1.5% across all social networks.

More than ever before, we’re seeing brands and businesses investing a high portion of their budgets to influencer marketing — simply because, when done right, it works!

According to influencer marketing company Linqia reports in 2019:

  • 39% of marketers surveyed with a digital marketing budget above $500,000 plan to increase their influencer marketing budget

  • 54% are planning to spend more than $250,000 annually on influencer marketing

  • And 17% are going to spend more than $1 million

So what exactly is a fair asking rate? How do you present your value to potential partners? What are important things to consider when agreeing on a collaboration?

In this post, we’ll be covering exactly how much influencers are charging and exactly what they’re charging for.

Let’s Talk Money: Calculating the Cost of Instagram Influencers

In the earliest days of influencer marketing, rising social stars would take on brand partnerships in exchange for free product.

Those days are long gone — while there are many micro-influencers still willing to exchange free product for promotion, today’s biggest Instagram influencers are charging major bucks to create posts for brands as their accounts have become their main source of income.

There’s no question that social media influencers have become indispensable for brand campaigns, especially on Instagram.

But if you were to ask an influencer how much money they charge, you may be surprised to see the scope of answers across the board:

So how do you come up with a fair price when there’s so many factors to consider?

The Current Market Challenge: Setting Fair Influencer Marketing Costs

While there is no one-size-fits all pricing, many digital marketers adhere to the one cent per follower (or $100 per 10K followers) rule, but only as a starting point for their calculation.

From there, you can adjust and take other factors into consideration, such as engagement rate, client budget, campaign length, and other partnership specifics.

However, influencer rates can still vary quite a bit. Collectively’s latest influencer marketing report states: “The guiding principle for influencer-brand collaborations is simple: influencers and brands are in a position to mutually benefit each other. There’s more than one way brands can provide value, but cash is king.”

Instagram influencer, Matt Crump (@mattcrump) shared his fee guide with Later, including the his rates per post:

He added, “Creative mandates, timeline, production costs and rights affect the fee. Instagram Stories are usually part of a package deal, or included to sweeten the deal for the brand.”

For Shane McCloskey, Director of Sales at influencer platform, Influence.Co, how much influencer marketing costs is a question he regularly gets asked:

Is this a fair rate?, How much should we be paying a particular influencer for their posts, Stories, YouTube videos, etc. ? –the answer is fairly simple and always the same: it depends.” shared Shane.

He also adds, “In my experience of chatting with agency and brand partners, there is absolutely no standardization in how influencers charge for partnership collaborations.”

So with no fence lines in place, influencer marketing is still the wild west for many businesses and influencers alike. Some may be underpaid for influencer services, while others will have over charged for their services compared to others in their field.  

“An influencer with a million followers on Instagram may charge $100 for a post, while an influencer with ten thousand followers on Instagram also charges $100 for the exact same post on their feed,”Shane noted.

The current challenge for both influencers and brands is to be both fair and competitive in the market.

Misty Gant, Senior Vice President of IMA Agency shares “We calculate this [rates] based on the reach, impressions, engagement and industry of the influencer. This allows us to be competitive and ensure we are getting the most value for clients.”

As Misty points out, an Influencer follower count isn’t the only thing to determine cost, or a suitable partnership. But to help break down the budget, we’re taking a closer look at how macro- and micro-influencers determine their rates.

Want to learn more about how your business can benefit from Instagram influencers? Download our free Instagram Influencer Marketing Guide here:

Partnering with Big Instagram Influencers (100K+ Followers)

A partnership with a big influencer often comes with a big price tag, but the investment can really pay off!

Considering advertisers  spend upwards of $5 million (excluding production costs) for a 30-second Super Bowl commercial to reach more than 100 million viewers — who may or may not be the brand’s target audience — a influencer partnership with a niche audience doesn’t seem like a bad business idea.

A series of Instagram posts by a fashion blogger with 500,000 followers and a cult-following could sell out an entire product line within 24 hours.  

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Later: Visual Social Marketing (@latermedia)

Travel and lifestyle blogger, Christina Galbato (@christinagalbato) (223k followers) shared with Later that she charges a rate of $2.2K per post and $700 per story.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Later: Visual Social Marketing (@latermedia)

She also adheres to the rule of $100 per 10,000 followers to calculate her rate.

One lifestyle blogger, with 118K followers and a 2.5% engagement rate, shared her rates with Later including different package options:

Another lifestyle blogger with 170K followers and a 4. 5% engagement rate disclosed similar rates listed as:

Wishing to remain anonymous, the lifestyle blogger noted that: “This rate includes endorsement of service/product on Facebook, Instagram (along with a story mention), Twitter, or Pinterest.“

Similarly, a popular travel blogger and photographer with 100K followers and a 9.2% engagement rate listed their content creation at a similar rate, priced at:

  • $1000 per Instagram Post

  • $1200 per Instagram Post + Blog Post

  • $200 per Instagram Story

  • $2000-$5000 for a 60-Second Product Video

A rate of $1000 seemed to be the average price per single Instagram post among larger influencers with ~100k followers, offering varying rates for additional services depending on the business’s needs.

Partnering With Micro-Influencers (10K – 100K Followers)

Influencer marketing is poised to become a key strategy for promoting your business and products on Instagram, with micro-influencers (those with less than 100k followers) yielding great results for businesses in 2018.

In fact, last year micro-influencers posted 84% of sponsored posts worldwide!

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Later: Visual Social Marketing (@latermedia)

As engagement rates on Instagram continue to decline, more and more businesses are seeing the value in partnering with Instagram influencers who have a small (or “micro”) but highly-engaged following.

One of the biggest benefits of working with micro-influencers is that they tend to retain higher levels of engagement than top-tier influencers.

Micro-influencers also have the added benefit of reaching a smaller, targeted niche. For example, travel bloggers Taylor Loren (aka “Taylor from Later”) and Elaine Rystead of Local Wanderer (64.8k followers) have a loyal following of people who love to travel and stay cool places. That’s why it’s no surprise their picture-perfect post led to 4 bookings in only 20 minutes:

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Later: Visual Social Marketing (@latermedia)

Since the traveling duo typically charges around $500 per post, the hotel was able to make back their investment in minutes.

In a recent influencer marketing study, Neoreach concludes “the larger the influencer, the lower the ROI”.

Yep, you read that right!

It’s reported that influencers with 50K to 250K followers deliver a 30% better ROI per dollar spent than macro-influencers, and 20% better than influencers with 1+ million followers.

They also tend to come with a smaller price tag than larger influencers. After reaching out to a fashion blogger in Los Angeles with 80K followers and a 7. 1% engagement rate, Later received her media kit, listing her pricing as:

  • Single Instagram Post: 1 for $300, or 2 for $500

  • Post across all platforms (Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Blog): $400

  • Per look, or two looks for $600

She also notes, “Rates vary based on services. Services offered include modeling, blogging, LOOKBOOK art direction and social media consultation.”

Later also received rates from a health and nutrition blogger, with 30K followers and a 7.3% engagement rate. While she  had similar pricing, it included a wider variety of pricing options in her media kit:

  • Dedicated Instagram Post: $325

  • IG Giveaway: $350

  • Brand IG Takeover (min 2 photos + Stories): $250 per day

  • IG Caption Mention (No visible product): $75

  • Series of 5 IG Stories: $85

  • Series of 3 Dedicated Posts: $825

  • Series of 5 Dedicated Posts: $1400

If you’re a small business, working with micro-influencers could be an effective and affordable way to grow your business in 2018. You can learn more about if micro-influencer marketing is right for you here!

In-Kind Influencer Partnerships

While cash is the most desired form of payment, in-kind campaigns can still be a meaningful exchange. Collectively  reported “54% of influencers say they would be more likely to post in-kind, or in exchange for free product, if they’re a true fan of the product or brand.”

Many influencer with a smaller following are happy to do in-kind partnerships, especially when they are already a brand advocate.

If you’re a larger brand reaching out to a follower looking to grow, the chance to repost an influencer’s photo to your larger audience may even be an added incentive!

When asked how she calculates her influencer marketing costs, blogger and micro-influencer Nicole Sadozai (@nicolesadozai) answered, “The best advice I received was at the Create & Cultivate event in Atlanta in 2016. My mentor for the day, blogger @nany spoke about how important it is to know your worth and how valuable your time is.

“Regardless of how large or small your following is if a brand is asking you to create content for them you really need to consider if this is something you are willing to do for free.”

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Marketers have become familiar with paying teams of photographers, creative directors, and producers to build out their digital campaigns in the past, and should look at influencer marketing in the same light.

Influencer Travel Partnerships

Much like press tours, brands are putting together Instagram influencer getaways, sending influencers on vacations across the globe — inviting them to relax, hang out with their friends, and, of course, post all about it.

It’s no surprise that these luxury getaways come at a steep price tag, as brands tend to spare no expense when it comes to the extravagant accommodations.

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Revelist looked at one beauty brand, Tarte’s Instagram influencer getaway and estimated the cost of the trip. The list of expenses includes travel on private jets, food and drink, swag, and activities.

The trip’s grand total is a whopping $338,640, but Revelist notes this is only a modest estimate. These trips can easily exceed half a million dollars, since Revelist’s estimate doesn’t including the cost of paying the influencers, trip staff, and other expenses.

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While these numbers may seem high, consider this: the average 30-second national ad costs $342K, while a one-page magazine ads runs approximately $250K — and these ads may or may not even reach the brand’s target audience. However, a series of Instagram posts by a fashion blogger with 500,000 followers and a cult-following could sell out an entire product line within 24 hours.

Check out our blog post, Here’s Why Brands are Taking Instagram Influencers on Vacation, to learn more about how these brand getaways work.

Brand Affiliates

The link in your bio is prime real estate –and influencers are teaming up with brands to use it for affiliate marketing.

In most cases, influencers are set up with a unique URL that offers their followers a special discount. Once followers click through to the site and makes a purchase, affiliates will receive a percentage of the sale!

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While some influencers may prefer cash upfront, affiliate programs can be a real win-win for both businesses and affiliates (and followers receiving the discount!). Your influencer partner will be much more likely to continue sharing about your product with a continued incentive than they otherwise would for a one-off partnership.

The Cost of Creating the Perfect Post: Calculating the “Extras”

As you probably know, there’s a lot of work that goes into creating an Instagram post or story! That’s why it’s important to consider all the extras that go into getting “the perfect shot”.

Matt Crump (@mattcrump) advises influencers to: “always know the costs of production before you sign a contract.”

“If there’s not a separate production budget in addition to the fee, make sure you’re incorporating those costs into your fee before accepting the offer,” warns Matt.

Here are a few potential costs that should be included in a project’s rate:

Production

It’s important to have an idea of what it will take to execute the creative for your partnership while negotiating with partners. For example, many influencers hire photographers and photo editors so they can spend their time in front of the lens.

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If you know you’ll need some extra help getting the shot, you’ll need to get price quotes ahead of time so they can be factoring into the rate.

Travel blogger Monica Stott (@thetravelhack) advises, “Influencers may also need to pay for a photographer and props and capturing just one image can be a full days work. Most influencers aren’t just taking selfies in their bedroom anymore so the costs soon add up!”

And now with Instagram video taking over the platform, influencers are pressed to seek out a whole new set of skills.

Viral Nation says increased pricing for video should be no surprise, and estimates, “Production time and costs can ultimately cost you an additional 40–50%, if not more depending on the scope and production value of the content”.  

Travel Costs

Whether you’re shooting across town or in another country, you’ll want to make sure you’ve calculated your travel cost prior to discussing your partnership terms.

For example, many LA influencers hit the desert to capture the perfect mood for the products they are shooting. This means they need to calculate the cost of gas, along with the time spent on the road.  

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Monica (@thetravelhack) also notes, “For me, it’s whether I’ll need to travel to a location to shoot the photo. I can usually tag new campaigns onto press trips but sometimes I’ll need to arrange a whole new trip. This can be pricey!”

It’s important to not only consider the price of travel, but to also calculate the value of your time spent to get there.

Agency Fees

Many large influencers are now represented by agencies to coordinate their brand partnerships. Since most of these agencies are equipped with seasoned negotiators, they often come with a handling fee.

Christina (@christinagalbato) shares, ‘I am fortunate to now be at a place where I work with a manager, who handles all brand negotiations for me.”

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Hiring a manager can be crucial for influencers who are making a living on the platform, or are being reached out to by brands frequently. “To sum it up, when a brand reaches out to me, my manager and I speak with the company to establish the scope of the collaboration,” Christina explains.

An agency or manager can also help take some of the negotiation pressures off their clients.

“We then put together a package rate and go back & forth negotiating something that works for both the brand and I. The goal of this negotiation process is to make sure that I am getting compensated fairly for my time and for access to my audience, and to also (whenever possible) increase the number of deliverables on my end, which in turn increases the size of the campaign and my rate.”

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“For example, if a brand initially just wants 2 Instagram posts, we will work to push that to 4 with a competitive package rate.” Christina also notes.

And that’s not even the half of it. Misty at IMA Agency shares, in addition to influencers rates and cost of production, “brands can also expect to pay an incremental cost for additional usage rights outside of standard social reposting, exclusivity requirements, additional images for brand use, paid media (boosting) requests, and white labelling content.

Again, it’s important to remember you’re not only paying Instagram influencers for their following or engagement rate but often times for their ideas and content creation. Today’s influencers have become pros at concepting, shooting, and executing mini-campaigns for brands and should be compensated accordingly.

Nailing Down the Details

When discussing costs and campaign specifics, Nicole (@nicolesadozai) advises Instagram influencers to “get your media kit ready and start planning for the long term instead of right now. I started my blog by viewing it as a business from the beginning and it paid off in a big way. Hobbies are fun but a business will pay the bills!”

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Nicole comments, “I almost always present my rates to potential partners via my media kit. It’s always the most straightforward approach when it comes to brand partnerships. This way, we both know what we are getting as well the services I offer and the type of content I like to create.”

Monica (@thetravelhack) also presents her costs with an influencer media kit  she created with Canva, and notes, “…there are so many variables for each campaign that I always let them know it’s a rough guide. I always try to arrange a phone call with the brand to talk about deliverables and fees.”

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Monica says her approach is beneficial for both herself and potential partners, adding, “This helps me understand exactly what they’re looking for so I can create a bespoke package for them but it also reassures them that I’m professional and I know what I’m doing!”

Media kits and contracts are an important part of scoping out your campaign expectations and requirements and should be included in all influencer marketing agreements, like any other business partnership.

Again, there is no “one size fits all” rate when it comes to influencer marketing costs, especially when it comes to content creation. Often times, there’s a lot of “extras” that go unaccounted for in collaborations.

Setting clear guidelines and objectives from the get-go can help you better prioritize your budget and help avoid unexpected expenses.

Setting Clear Goals For Your Partnership with Instagram Influencers

With so many varying rates, content offerings and different types of Instagram influencers, how do you know which type of partnership is right for you?

Toni Daly, influencer marketing specialist at Hypertly says, “Businesses looking to get into the influencer space should make sure to do their research and choose influencers who align well with their brand.

Although the ROI in influencer marketing isn’t instant, having familiar faces back your product or brand helps establish trust among potential customers, which is invaluable in the long run.

It’s important to spend more time thinking about your strategy and campaign goals than the dollar amount associated with your campaign.

Misty at IMA Agency advises influencers “really focus on their niche and create high quality content.” She also shared, “At IMA we strive to create authentic connections between brands and influencers — which is paramount to being a credible voice and authority within their community. They should also continue to focus on their engagement rate – this is a key measurement we look at when vetting potential partners for our clients.

Setting up crystal clear Instagram marketing goals will drive initial planning decisions on whether to execute campaigns based on short-term partnerships (for example, three Instagram posts about a new product release) or longer-term contracts that specify ongoing deliverables over an extended period of time.

“I don’t often do one-off posts with brands, so most of my collaborations involve multiple Instagram posts,Instagram Stories, YouTube and/or blog content. ” shared Christina (@christinagalbato).

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“When negotiating these larger collaborations, I offer package pricing. For example, if a brand wants 3 posts on my page, the total rate at $2,200/post would be $6,600, but I’d offer them a package deal of 3 posts for $6,000. This gives the brand a bit of a deal and helps to lock the campaign in more quickly.”

Toni Daly also notes, “Using influencers to generate brand awareness can be beneficial for almost any business, as long as the goals of the partnership are established early on. What are you trying to achieve when collaborating with an influencer? Are you looking to build brand awareness, gain social followers, or are you looking for direct sales?

Influencer Marketing Hub predicted a trend towards brands cultivating more long-term relationships with influencers in 2019.  

Monica (@thetravelhack) shared, “I don’t do one-off posts on social media and only work on bigger packages which will usually include a blog post, a video, a newsletter feature and a small package of tweets, Facebook updates, Instagram grid posts and Instagram Stories.”

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Monica also commented she prefers long-term partnerships as opposed to one-offs:“I find this is most beneficial for everyone – the brand gets more exposure, my readers get more information about a product and I get to focus on one big job at a time and avoid all the admin of little jobs.”

Without first determining exactly what you will gain from your Instagram influencer partnership, you can’t appropriately value the influencer’s effort or set your budget.

Once your company has a clear set of objectives in mind, it will become much easier to determine whether an Instagram influencer’s fees are aligned with the value they offer and the outcome you’re looking for.

Think about what you’re looking for in the Instagram influencer’s audience to do as a result of your partnership. Are you looking to gain followers? To increase sales? Build brand awareness?

These are all great things to consider when determining the value of a potential Instagram influencer marketing partnership.

Setting a Budget and Calculating Your Rates

While your budget may heavily depend on the details, it’s a good idea to have a baseline price, or starting point to work from.

Shane McCloskey (@influenceco) comments, “It’s particularly frustrating for agency partners who are new to the game, because they have no idea if they are getting a good deal or not for their clients. While we do not provide guidance on negotiations (self-service model), we do request that creators shed some light on their “starting rate” for posts when setting up (or editing) their profiles on influence. co.”

He adds, “This data is very valuable for brands and agencies to understand if they are in the same ballpark on the cost of a collaboration as a particular creator – all before reaching out or engaging with that particular creator.”

If you’re just getting started in the influencer space, don’t be afraid to ask around! In an industry based around making connections, more often than not, your community will be happy to share their advice.

Monica (@thetravelhack) also suggests utilizing your network, and comments, “I highly recommend making friends with other influencers within your niche so you can chat to each other about the campaigns you’re being asked to work on.”

She also shared, “I worked on a campaign once with six other travel bloggers and one blogger wasn’t being paid while the rest of us were paid a substantial fee. He had no idea he could have asked for payment and had been working for free. Businesses will always try and pay as little as possible so connect with a trustworthy circle of friends so you can double check what everyone else is being paid.

At the end of the day, your rates may look quite a bit different than an influencer in the same position. While it’s important to do the research, at the end of the day make sure you set your rate a number you can confidently stand behind.

Matt (@mattcrump) advises influencers simply charge what they think they’re worth — especially with so many factors that will be personal to their brand and unique partnerships.

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He also reminds influencers, “Over time, your audience will grow and you’ll make more of a name for yourself, so you’ll be able to charge more every year, hopefully!”

Calculating the ROI of Instagram Influencers

Influencer marketing gives brands a unique opportunity to reach a niche and engaged audience.

Although it may initially seem like a risk to invest large amounts of money into influencer marketing, it’s important to consider exactly what you are paying for and, most importantly, measure the results.

After analyzing more than 2,000 influencer campaigns, Neoreach calculated a total earned media value (EMV) averaging 5.2x per $1 spent. This means that every dollar spent on influencer marketing results in five times as many interactions compared to the same marketing dollars spent on paid advertising.

Jordan Haugan, director of business development at August United says, “The marketing leaders we work with are under immense pressure to prove to their executive teams not only the typical engagement metrics you’d expect in any campaign (impressions, engagements, etc.) but business metrics (sales lifts, purchases, etc.).

Some of the most common performance metrics you can use for measuring the impact of your influencer marketing are:

  • Engagement rate: likes, comments, shares

  • Brand sentiment: how people are talking about your brand

  • Traffic: customers visiting your website

  • Sales: conversions and revenues generated

Jordan also notes, “We urge the brand leaders we partner with to put conversion tracking systems in place to attribute all the deeper, meaningful metrics we can show (beyond eyeballs and engagement) while looking at campaigns holistically — after all, for an audience to take action, you need an audience!

As with everything, use campaign performance data to see which influencers drove the best results (and why), and use this data to inform how you construct future campaigns.

There’s no doubt Instagram influencers will continue to dominate in 2019! Have any other tips or tricks for calculating your influencer marketing costs? Let us know in the comments!

How much to charge for advertising on Instagram

Today, in the accounts of Instagram bloggers, you can find ads from both start-ups and large corporations. The price tag for one advertising post can vary from several hundred to several million dollars. Such a huge price range challenges all influencers in assessing the fair value of their services. We offer you to figure out how much to charge for advertising on Instagram, and on what factors the cost depends.

Why you can get money on Instagram

Influencer marketing continues to gain momentum. About 7 out of 10 users rely on the opinion of bloggers when making a decision. Influencers allow you to establish closer contact with the audience, drive huge streams of payback Internet traffic and improve sales.

Using these market trends and having an active audience on Instagram, you can earn money by promoting brands and their products. There are several options for earning:

  • sponsored publications;
  • affiliate marketing.

Let's consider each of them in more detail.

Sponsored post or story

Sponsored posts are one of the most popular ways to make money on Instagram. Advertising with bloggers shows amazing cases, so brands of all calibers are looking to partner with influencers. And not only millionaire bloggers are in demand. Brands also turn to micro-influencers with up to 50K followers for advertising.

The task of the influencer in this case is to create and place high-quality advertising content in their account. The format of a sponsored post can be anything, from a simple photo with a product and a mention of the brand, as if by chance, to a full review.

Collaboration is based on individual advertising agreements between the brand and the account holder. The influencer chooses the cost of placing an advertising post independently based on several key parameters:

  • volume of subscribers;
  • audience engagement;
  • demand.

Often the cost is influenced by two more unpredictable concepts - the blogger's personal desires and the ability to sell to his audience.

In determining the cost of an advertising post, a lot also depends on the format of advertising, the scale of the influencer, the brand budget, and product features. As a rule, the more difficult it is to advertise a product and the more time it takes to create content, the higher the cost of placing a sponsored post.

Affiliate marketing

Affiliate marketing involves earning a certain commission on the sale of partner products, attracting new customers. The task of the influencer in this case is to conduct a review, talk about the benefits of the product and add a referral link or a promo code for the purchase to the description. If users like the recommendation, they go to the partner's website and make a purchase, the blogger will receive a certain commission from the funds they spend.

Affiliate marketing has more flexibility than sponsored publications. A blogger can decide for himself what format of publications to choose, what, how, and when to write, but earnings also depend solely on the actions of the influencer himself. Working according to this scheme, it is important to choose the right products on offer so that they are ideally suited to your target audience.

Assess the quality of the audience

When a brand pays you to post, it is actually buying views, likes, clicks from your target audience. And you have to be honest with the advertiser about what response you can offer. Selling your influence without actually having it is a recipe for disaster.

Therefore, before placing a price tag, you should definitely evaluate the quality of your audience. Detailed account audience analytics can be done with trendHERO .

The service allows:

  • to find out the demographics of subscribers;
  • compare the interests of your audience with the values ​​of the brand;
  • see how the number of subscribers grows;
  • calculate the audience engagement indicator;
  • Check your account for bots.


Advertisers now value quality over quantity. Nobody wants to overpay for bots in subscribers and “dead” souls, so before cooperation, you should definitely check the quality of your account. So, if necessary, you can increase the level of audience engagement, clean your account from bots, and avoid being blacklisted by unscrupulous bloggers.

Please note that advertisers can get detailed profile statistics without you. Therefore, it makes no sense to hide cheated activity and subscribers.

How to calculate how much to charge for advertising?

The price of advertising depends on many factors:

  • format;
  • the quality and quantity of the audience;
  • brand budget;
  • influencer requests.

There is no single magic calculation formula suitable for everyone. Therefore, below we suggest that you familiarize yourself with several different ways to determine the cost of advertising on Instagram.

Hourly

Hourly is a good option for aspiring influencers who don't yet have a huge following but already know they can create quality content.

This is also a good option for those who post content that requires a lot more skill than just taking photos or videos. For example, if you conduct a full product review for your publications, apply technical editing skills, use special effects, drones, then it is logical that you should receive monetary compensation for your efforts and time spent.

How much a blogger will charge for advertising in this case can be calculated using the following formula:

  • Hourly rate * number of hours spent on content production + any additional costs.

Calculation example for creating a sponsored post at an hourly rate of $50:

  • 30 minutes to research the brand and competitors;
  • 60 minutes to generate a publication idea and determine creative direction;
  • 45 minutes product photography;
  • 60 minutes for photo editing and retouching;
  • 15 minutes to publish the material and write a caption to the post.

Total: 3.5 hours to create a publication is $175 to pay.

Additional expenses may be the cost of the necessary props, the cost of paying for the work of an assistant, travel and other expenses that the blogger incurred to create high-quality content.

When invoicing, be sure to include all hours spent, from the time it takes to generate an idea. As for the additional costs, then everything is individual. For example, some even include in the price the travel time and the money spent on gasoline and the purchase of props. Others are frivolous about such calculations and perform minor duties just like that.

It's worth mentioning right off the bat that not all brands may like the idea of ​​paying an hourly rate. In some cases, you will have to calculate in advance how long it will take you to produce in order to quote a fixed fee. Of course, it may take you longer to create content than you planned, or you may be able to complete it much earlier. But knowing the estimated cost, companies can plan costs.

Engagement payment calculation

The brand wants to get views, new loyal customers, likes and comments from cooperation. Logically, it makes sense to charge for the actual engagement of users under a post. This option will be attractive for those who do not want to keep track of every second spent on the project, and are confident in the quality of their audience and their influence.

But it is important to understand that there is a certain relationship between the number of subscribers and engagement. As a rule, the more followers, the less engagement on the account. This is due to many factors, including the fact that subscribers believe that if there are more than 30K+ likes on a post, then you don’t need them anymore.

To calculate how much a blogger should charge for advertising, taking into account engagement, follow the following scheme:

  1. Calculate the average number of likes per post. For calculation it is recommended to take into account the last 12 posts. Output the total number of likes and divide by 12.
  2. Determine the average number of likes by counting all the comments under the last 12 posts and dividing the number by the number of posts.
  3. Calculate the average number of activities per post by adding the average number of likes and comments.

Next, you can determine for yourself the optimal cost for one user activity and calculate how much it will cost to place a post with you.

For example:

  • the average number of likes under posts is 3000;
  • average number of comments 75;
  • total activity of users under post 3075,
  • the selected price for one activity is $0.1.

Total: posting will cost $307.5 (3075 x 0.1).

You can automatically calculate engagement and get a lot of other useful statistical information about your profile through trendHERO.

Because comments require more effort from users, you can set separate fees for likes and comments if you wish. Remember also that brands always like to get more than they planned. Offer a discount, several posts instead of one, additional content with a product as a courtesy.

Payment by CPM

The third option is to calculate the cost of advertising by CPM. CPM (abbr. from Cost per mille) is a marketing term that shows the cost per thousand impressions or subscribers, taking into account their involvement.

To calculate your CPM payment, follow a few simple steps.

Step 1: Calculate Engagement

First of all, you need to calculate the level of engagement on your account. For this you need:

  1. Add up the average number of likes and comments per post.
  2. Divide the resulting value by the number of followers on the account and multiply by 100%.

Average cost of payment for 1000 impressions difference depending on the level of engagement of subscribers:

  • 1.5-3% participation - 5 USD;
  • 3-5% - 7 USD;
  • 5-8% - 10 USD;
  • > 8% - 15 USD.
Step 2: Follower count

Next, divide the number of followers by 1000. For example, if you have 250K followers in your account, then the CPM value of the formula would be 250.

Step 3: calculation of CPM

Now all that remains is to substitute the obtained values ​​into the formula and calculate:

  • Advertising price = CPM value by engagement level x per subscriber rate.

For example, let's take an account with 25K followers and engagement of 3-5%. The calculations for it will look like this:

  • 7 USD x 25 = 175 USD per post.

Brands also often use pay per 1000 impressions. To calculate the CPM in this case, you should:

  1. Take the average number of impressions a post gets and divide by 1000.
  2. Multiply the resulting value by the cost per impression. The average cost is 20 USD, which formally means 2 cents per impression.

Calculation example for an account where 20000 is the average number of impressions: (20000/1000) x 20 = 20 x 20 = 400 USD.

As a rule, the engagement and impressions for Stories and regular posts are different. Therefore, for each specific ad format, you should display its own cost. Sometimes the cost of placement may be intentionally increased compared to the base rate. For example, if it takes many times more time and skills to create an advertising publication for all brand requirements than for a regular one.

Other methods

There are several other ways to determine the optimal cost of advertising in your account. The methods below do not require special calculations, but make it easy to navigate the market situation.

Use the calculator

You can use online calculators to calculate the cost of a sponsored post. It is convenient, simple and does not require much time. But you have to trust the average formula derived by professionals.

For example, the mafluence.com service allows you to calculate the cost of advertising based on the number of subscribers, their activity, engagement level, and many other factors. To make a calculation, you only need to specify a nickname.

The calculator from influencermarketinghub.com works in much the same way. With it, you can also calculate the approximate cost of advertising based on the number of subscribers, their involvement, and some other statistics by entering only the account name in the appropriate line.

Monitor competitors

You can determine the approximate cost per post by analyzing competitors. You can find out the cost of placing an advertising post directly, for example, by asking the owner of another account, or by searching for prices in chats and customer groups, on advertising exchanges.

Knowing the cost of advertising in accounts like yours, you can also create competitive offers for advertisers by offering discounts or slightly more material for the same cost.

Specify the brand's budget

Any cooperation negotiation should start with the customer's budget. Of course, you should already have your own minimum bar calculated, below which you would not cooperate. But it’s still worth considering the brand’s budget.

Knowing the brand's budget, you can act in several scenarios:

  1. Develop an offer based on the brand's needs and budget.
  2. Reduce the time spent on creating content and thereby reduce the cost of advertising for the brand.
  3. Get more than originally planned if the customer's budget is more than the standard cost of placement in your account.

It may also happen that the applied brand does not have an advertising budget. Of course, unpaid work does not pay bills, but sometimes it is worth accepting such offers. Especially if you need experience and feedback.

Some brands offer barter, interesting collaborations, they are ready to provide free copies of their products in exchange for publication. And although such cooperation will be less profitable from a financial point of view, it can still be useful both for gaining experience and for establishing connections.

In calculating the cost of advertising, everything is very individual. All influencers are at different levels, have their own strengths and weaknesses, and produce content of varying quality. The final cost of placement can be determined only by you. After all, only you know for sure how subscribers trust you, how long it takes to create high-quality content, and how real the activity in the profile is. We can only recommend staying honest with brands, keeping an eye on the quality of your audience, and looking for a compromise when necessary.

Instagram Calculator - Estimate How Much It Costs to Advertise on Instagram!

How much does advertising on Instagram cost?

How much does it cost to advertise on an Instagram profile? How much do bloggers earn? You can check how much a blogger (or you) could earn from a particular publication, just paste the link to his post and click on the button.

The above tools are not official Instagram tools and are not affiliated with or endorsed by Instagram in any way. This tool has been designed to provide potential bloggers and micro-bloggers with the opportunity to earn.

Unlike YouTube, where you sell ad space on your videos and channel page for ads at a rate determined by Google, Instagram does not compensate its users for showing ads on their posted photos. Instagram is owned by Facebook, so it culls Facebook ads on people's posts. So Instagram influencers and brands don't have middlemen or any set rates if they want to work together. Brands make deals with bloggers and micro-bloggers, and the cost of advertising on Instagram can vary markedly depending on the circumstances. However, in almost all cases, one thing remains the same: bloggers get paid more if they have a high level of engagement as well as a large number of followers. Brands are well aware that you can easily buy followers that are of no practical value to anyone. Hence, they are much more interested in you having real followers, those who interact with your posts.

Compared to other social networks, Instagram accounts have a relatively high level of engagement. For example, the average Facebook or Twitter user only has an engagement rate of 0.5 – 1.0%. But, as account analysis shows, Instagram has an engagement rate of 3%. Any level of engagement above this, combined with a large following, suggests that you are an influencer among your peers. Our Instagram earnings calculator takes into account all these factors. We're looking at the average engagement rates of your last 12 Instagram posts (engagement is likes and comments on your posts). Example. If your engagement rate is less than 8% and the number of followers is less than 1000, you can expect to get paid less from brands than those bloggers who exceed the average engagement rate on their posts.

From a brand perspective, niche also matters. For example, fashion firms are much more likely to work with influential name bloggers than plumbing firms, and brand budgets are also highly dependent on niche.

Your Instagram account needs constant growth

Instagram doesn't have a standard way to make money, unlike YouTube and its Google Ads. Therefore, as a blogger, you need to find brands willing to pay you directly.

Any Instagrammer who wants to earn money should be attractive to the majority of the audience and be constantly active, fulfilling their priority task. You can improve your position in the following ways:

  • By improving your bio so it is very clear who you are and who wants to follow you
  • Conduct ongoing analysis of your Instagram account using a variety of services. (Read our article about 20 good services for Instagram)
  • Like most social networks, Instagram likes to see evidence of regular posting, not sudden bursts of activity when you feel like you have free time. Publish
  • High quality original photographs. Try taking pictures with a decent camera rather than just your phone. You should be known for producing really good content (which in the case of Instagram is high quality images).
  • Use relevant hashtags so people in your niche can find you from your tagged images, this is where a hashtag generator can help you
  • Interact with your followers by commenting and liking their images and they are more likely to do the same in exchange for yours.
  • Make a content plan, because consistency is a sign of excellence. Start with a simple list of topics you want to cover in your posts and expand as needed.

Also, in our recent article, we analyzed 9 ways to increase the activity of subscribers in your profile.

Sponsored posts

Sponsored posts are the most common form of collaboration between brands and Instagram influencers. So how much does it cost to charge for advertising on Instagram? Our calculator above is designed to show you the approximate cost of advertising on Instagram. In this situation, the brand will typically reach out to someone it considers influential and offer to pay them to promote the sponsor's image to their followers.

Of course, to be effective, a sponsored post needs to fit well with the blogger's audience and look like a real influencer recommendation. In recent years, the FTC (Federal Trade Commission) has stepped in by this time, and sponsored posts are now required to be clearly labeled as such. As long as the product fits well with your profile audience, it doesn't matter if the post is tagged #promo or #promo.

A perfectly sponsored post shows how the brand's product fits perfectly into the life of a blogger and how it can just as easily fit into the lives of his or her followers. Top Instagram influencers, with thousands of active followers in a popular niche, can earn very lucrative fees for posting sponsored posts. The Grouphigh Influencer Marketing Report suggests that an average person blogger can charge between $200 and $500 per post.

Those with over 100,000 followers are unheard of earning between $700 and $900 per photo. Those with 500,000 followers can get anywhere from $2,000 to $3,000 per photo posted.

Of course there are superstars. Kim Kardashian West was able to get $300,000 for posting on all of her social media. Of course, she has 87.1 million :). A typical post by any of the Kardashian/Jenners clan usually nets at least $200,000. Often, Insta bloggers create content and the brand has the right to reuse that content in their marketing and on their website.

Affiliate Marketing

Just like a blogger can promote an affiliate product on their blog, an Insta blogger can promote an affiliate product on their posts. You can work with a site like Shareasale to find the right products to promote.

Of course, like any other affiliate marketing, it will only be effective if the product you are promoting works well with your subscribers. If it just looks like an ad for an unrelated product, your subscribers won't be impressed and won't click through.


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